LokSabha 17: The Final Outlook of the New Cabinet


On May 30, 2019 7:06 pm (IST) at the forecourt of Rashtrapati Bhavan. Narendra Modi, The man who headed the LS16, took oath of the highest office as the as the leader of the coming 17th Loksabha, Followed by his council of Ministers including the cabinet ministers and ministers of state. However the portfolios are yet to be given to the respective ministers though the final picture of the coming cabinet is rather clear.

In the preceding government, total tally of the ministers was 76 which has been shortened down to 58, faces like Anupriya Patel, Radha Mohan Singh, Jayant Sinha and many others have not been included, important to mention leaders like Arun Jaitley and Sushma Swaraj who have purposely kept away from the government owing to their health or personnel issues.

Although, no constitutional position as the number two exists, it seems there is a tussle between Amit Shah and Rajnath Singh to be the second. PM modi has been very explicit (in a good way) in terms of his choices and decisions even then it is less likely that he’ll grant incharge of Home Ministry to Amit Shah who is under jurisdiction for criminal offences.

The Union Council of Ministers For LS17:- 

1. Prime Minister Narendra Modi, the forerunner of the Bhartiya Janta Party, leader of the new Loksabha, who got re-elected from his constituency, Varanasi of eastern UP. The face of a historical government, as no party has ever retained the power with a clear majority.

2. Rajnath Singh, number two in the last government, held Home Ministry in the NDA 1. One of the rare leaders of BJP who have successfully retained his political charisma from the days of Atal Bihari Vajpayee government. (UTTAR PRADESH)

3. Amit Anilchandra ShahChanakya of the BJP, he won his election from Gujarat’s Ahmedabad LS seat. Synonymous to election management, have worked extensively on the backstage in NDA 1. (GUJARAT)

4. Nitin Gadkari, Considered highest performing ministers of the previous government, have headed the most trickiest ministry like the River Development & Ganga Rejuvenation. (Maharashtra)

5. Nirmala Sitharaman, Held defence ministry in the last government, her alma mater is Jawaharlal Nehru University. (Andhra Pradesh)

6. Ravi Shankar Prasad, A veteran BJP leaders who rose during the times of Jai Prakash movement, also and advocate in the Ayodhya dispute. (Bihar)

7. DV Sadananda Gowda, (Karnataka)

8. Ramvilas Paswan, Leader of the LJP, He is known for making exact calculations to somehow fit in on the wining side, he held ministries in both the NDA1 and UPA1. Last year he contested from Hajipur seat of Bihar, in election19 he has been assured of a RS seat. (Bihar)

9. Narendra Singh Tomar, (Madhya Pradesh)

10. Harsimrat Kaur Badal, (Punjab)

11. Thaawar Chand Gehlot, Former minister of Social justice and empowerment. He hails from (Madhya Pradesh) has been inducted to council of ministers through Rajya Sabha.

12. Subrahmanyam Jaishankar, Ex Foreign Secretary and one of the most credited diplomat of the Modi government. He had played key role in the historic nuclear deal during the Manmohan Singh’s government.

13. Ramesh Pokhriyal ‘Nishank’, Former CM of Uttarakhand, who won from Haridwar loksabha seat exceeding the average wining margin in both 2014, 2019 elections. (UTTARAKHAND)

14. Arjun Munda, (Jharkhand)

15. Smriti Zubin Irani, (UttarPradesh) The giant killer from the BJP, she defeated Prime opposition’s Rahul Gandhi from his home turf of Amethi.

16. Harsh Vardhan, (Delhi) He won his election from Delhi’s Chandani chowk seat. In the NDA 1 he held ministries like the ministry of science of technology and Health ministry.

17. Prakash Javadekar, he held important ministry of Human resource development. A non controversial leader from (Madhya Pradesh)

18. Piyush Goyal, one of the most connected leaders of this new era, he has been in close circles with the volunteers of the BJP and mission Modi. He has a huge list of followers on twitter, Modi’s go to for affairs related to Railway and finance after Arun Jaitley fell ill in the last government. (Maharashtra)

19. Dharmendra Pradhan, (MadhyaPradesh)

20. Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi, (Jharkhand)

21. Pralhad Joshi, (Karnataka)

22. Mahendra Nath Pandey, (UttarPradesh)

23. Arvind Ganpat Sawant, He represents Shivsena, one of the oldest ally of the BJP replaces Anant Geete. (Maharashtra)

24. Giriraj Singh, The most controversial leaders of the NDA 1. He was initially upset after been fielded from Begusarai, opposite to Kanhaiya Kumar. Giriraj won the LS seat with one of the highest margins. (Bihar)

25. Gajendra Singh Shekhawat


1. Santosh Kumar Gangwar
2. Inderjit Singh
3. Shripad Yesso Naik
4. Jitendra Singh
5. Kiren Rijiju
6. Prahalad Singh Patel
7. Raj Kumar Singh
8. Hardeep Singh Puri
9. Mansukh L Mandaviya


1. Faggansingh Kulaste
2. Ashwini Kumar Choubey
3. Arjun Ram Meghwal
4. General (Retd) VK Singh
5. Krishan Pal
6. Danve Raosaheb Dadarao
7. G Kishan Reddy
8. Parshottam Rupala
9. Ramdas Athawale
10. Sadhvi Niranjan Jyoti
11. Babul Supriyo
12. Sanjeev Kumar Balyan
13. Dhotre Sanjay Shamrao
14. Anurag Singh Thakur
15. Angadi Suresh Channabasappa
16. Nityanand Rai
17. Rattan Lal Kataria
18. V Muraleedharan
19. Renuka Singh Saruta
20. Som Parkash
21. Rameswar Teli
22. Pratap Chandra Sarangi
23. Kailash Choudhary
24. Debasree Chaudhuri

Support IndianSpectator by subscribing to our Daily Newsletters, Submit your opinion/articles on Info.indianspectator@gmail.com

Stamp your viewpoint, use the comment box down below. Share on Facebook, Twitter and WhatsApp.


S Jaishankar Sworn In The Oath For The Cabinet 2.0, Who’s He ?

Redmi K20 series might be called Poco F2 & F2 Pro in India & Overseas Markets

Support Indian Spectator, follow us on Google News. Submit your opinion and guest articles on Info.indianspectator@gmail.com

IS NewsDesk
Stories curated by our interns and news crew. Originally reported or general compilation from various available sources and news agencies.

Latest News

Damodar Savarkar: A Journey of Controversy and Conviction

You know, Vinayak Damodar Savarkar, a prominent figure in Indian politics, had quite the journey. Born on 28th May...

Congress and AAP arrive at a Lok Sabha seat sharing formula in Delhi.

The Congress and Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) have worked out a deal for who gets to run for Lok...

Yami Gautam’s Role in ‘Best Film of Her Career’ Garners Acclaim: Article 370 movie

Excitement is building among movie fans nationwide for "Article 370," directed by the renowned Aditya Dhar of "Uri –...

Understanding Maratha Reservation: Key Points You Need to Know

On Tuesday, The Maharashtra Assembly approved the Maharashtra State Reservation for Socially and Educationally Backward Classes Bill 2024, which...

Former CM & Shiv Sena Leader Manohar Joshi Passes Away

Political leaders from across party lines, including Prime Minister Narendra Modi, paid heartfelt tributes to former Lok Sabha speaker...

Understanding the World of Fintech in India

In a recent report shared with Parliament, the Standing Committee on Communications and Information Technology raised worries about how...

CBI Raids Premises of Former J&K Governor Satya Pal Malik in Kiru Hydropower Corruption Probe

In a significant development, the Central Bureau of Investigation (CBI) conducted raids on the properties of former Jammu and...

Understanding the Thanthai Periyar Sanctuary Issue: What’s Happening and Why It Matters

Lately, there's been a lot of talk about the Thanthai Periyar Sanctuary in Tamil Nadu. But why all the...