Mumbai Indians once again bags IPL trophy, 5th victory since IPL’s inception


Mumbai Indians once again bags IPL trophy

In the final fixture of the Indian premier league 2020, Mumbai Indians defeated Delhi capitals. Rohit Sharma’s Mumbai Indians won the IPL title for the fifth time and second in a row. Tuesday’s final was Hitman’s 200th match in the IPL. The match became more memorable for the entire team and its fans. In this year’s IPL, Mumbai Indians were the defending champions, and no doubt, they did a fabulous job at retaining the title. Now IPL 2021 will be a Hat Trick chance for the MI paltan.

Mumbai Indians as a team have evolved year after year with the touch of Captain Rohit Sharma. In 2013, the leadership baton passed from Ricky Ponting to Hitman. Since then, the Mumbai Indians have only moved forward under Rohit’s leadership. After 2013, 2015, 2016, 2019, they are the champions once again. Rohit has emerged as the most successful captain of the competition after winning the IPL five times. On the other hand, Virat Kohli has yet to win a trophy for Royal Challengers Bangalore.

Delhi Capitals stood at the crossroads of making history on Tuesday. If they could beat Mumbai, the trophy would have gone to Delhi Capitals for the first time. Even though Delhi came very close, but it remained farther from the trophy.

DC’s Shreyas won the toss and elected to bat. The purpose was to put pressure on Mumbai by scoring runs on the scoreboard. But Trent Bolt thought otherwise. Kiwi pacer started the fire from the first ball. He broke the batting spine of Delhi. Shreyas scored 75 off 50 balls. He took the team to a defendable score. Delhi had to take wickets from the start to win the match with a capital of 156 runs.

Mumbai started chasing runs at express speed. Rohit and Quinton de Kock took the offensive route from the start. The intentions were to reach a good score in the powerplay and take the rest of the match in hand. The plan worked for Mumbai. Mumbai lost the first wicket by 45 runs. Stoinis dismissed Quinton (20) in Marquette. Surya kumar Yadav (19) was run out due to a misunderstanding with the Mumbai captain.

However, Rohit did not lose focus. He returned to the dugout after playing an innings of 68 off 51 balls. The Delhi bowlers lost rhythm against Rohit’s attacking batting. He could not play in four matches due to a hamstring injury. Others, like Pollard (9), Hardik Pandya (3), failed on this day, but Ishan Kisan (33) did the rest of the work.

Meanwhile, from Delhi’s side, Marcus Stoinis came to open the day with Shikhar Dhawan. Stoinis was dismissed by Quinton D’Cock with the first ball of the Kiwi pacer. He was hesitant about whether or not to play big shots. In the beginning, Delhi relied on Dhawan and Ajinkya Rahane after losing the wicket of Stoinis. Both batsmen have a lot of experience. Yet they couldn’t control the situation. Rahane also had to return quickly after scoring 2 runs after losing 2 wickets for 16 runs.

In the fourth over, Rohit replaced Bumrah by Jayant Yadav. Sunil Gavaskar was critical of the Mumbai captain’s decision. He argues that Delhi has come under pressure after losing 2 wickets. Bumrah should not have been removed from the attack in such a situation. But an experienced batsman like Dhawan also lost his temper and endangered the team by playing a weak shot. Jayant took Dhawan’s wicket at 15 runs.

Shreyas and Rishabh Pant, two young Delhi batsmen, started playing with a positive attitude. Pant batted aggressively. Shreyas remained unbeaten on 65 runs.

Mumbai successfully chased the target of 156 runs in just 18.4 overs.

Support Indian Spectator by subscribing to our Daily Newsletters, Submit your opinion/articles on


Support Indian Spectator, follow us on Google News. Submit your opinion and guest articles on

Sports Desk
We're the sports desk publishing team and we're here to bring you the latest and greatest in the world of sports. From breaking news to in-depth analysis and behind-the-scenes.

Latest News

Damodar Savarkar: A Journey of Controversy and Conviction

You know, Vinayak Damodar Savarkar, a prominent figure in Indian politics, had quite the journey. Born on 28th May...

Congress and AAP arrive at a Lok Sabha seat sharing formula in Delhi.

The Congress and Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) have worked out a deal for who gets to run for Lok...

Yami Gautam’s Role in ‘Best Film of Her Career’ Garners Acclaim: Article 370 movie

Excitement is building among movie fans nationwide for "Article 370," directed by the renowned Aditya Dhar of "Uri –...

Understanding Maratha Reservation: Key Points You Need to Know

On Tuesday, The Maharashtra Assembly approved the Maharashtra State Reservation for Socially and Educationally Backward Classes Bill 2024, which...

Former CM & Shiv Sena Leader Manohar Joshi Passes Away

Political leaders from across party lines, including Prime Minister Narendra Modi, paid heartfelt tributes to former Lok Sabha speaker...

Understanding the World of Fintech in India

In a recent report shared with Parliament, the Standing Committee on Communications and Information Technology raised worries about how...

CBI Raids Premises of Former J&K Governor Satya Pal Malik in Kiru Hydropower Corruption Probe

In a significant development, the Central Bureau of Investigation (CBI) conducted raids on the properties of former Jammu and...

Understanding the Thanthai Periyar Sanctuary Issue: What’s Happening and Why It Matters

Lately, there's been a lot of talk about the Thanthai Periyar Sanctuary in Tamil Nadu. But why all the...